Sunday: Spaghetti – Funny story: So I’m trying to be mindful of my sodium intake. And Cooking Light recommends that if you’re using a pre-made, jarred pasta sauce, you should buy one with 350mg of sodium or less per half cup serving. Well, I am here to tell you that that sauce does not exist, at least not at Kroger. I looked at every single brand, including ridiculously expensive fancy brands that I would never buy. The best I could find was a marinara sauce with 360mg of sodium per serving. And was it some super fancy brand?

Nope. It was Private Selection, which is the nicer Kroger brand. Not even expensive! The one problem is that I prefer chunky spaghetti sauces full of veggies. But those had more sodium than the plain marinara sauce. So I got creative. I made my own chunky vegetable sauce by sautéing some chopped onions, bell peppers, and carrots and then adding the sauce to them. It turned out delicious!

Okay so maybe that wasn’t exactly a “funny story.” (Although if you had seen me in the grocery store frustratedly looking at the nutrition facts on every single jar of pasta sauce, you probably would have laughed.) But at least maybe it was a helpful reminder that you can get creative and make things work for you.

Monday: Roasted Vegetable and Goat Cheese Pizza with salad – There’s no recipe for this. (Although I am using this recipe from Cooking Light for instructions on the best way to roast the veggies.) I bought pre-made pizza dough. I’m going to roast some eggplant, zucchini, and red bell pepper in the oven for the toppings. And use goat cheese instead of mozzarella. This is similar to a pizza that I have had before a California Pizza Kitchen. I think it will be delicious.

Tuesday: Brown Sugar and Balsamic Glazed Pork Loin with corn on the cob and green beans – This recipe is really easy and really good. I cooked it for my family, Matthew’s family, and Will (Lilly’s boyfriend)’s family on New Year’s Eve, and it was a big hit. Crock Pot meals are the best. And since I only have an hour and a half long dinner break on Tuesday, it’s nice that I can do all the prep in the morning and dinner will just be ready when I come home at 5:00.

Wednesday: Five Spice Tilapia with Citrus Ponzu Sauce with couscous and steamed squash and snow peas – We bought Chinese Five Spice Powder for one recipe a few months ago, so i decided I should try to find more ways to use it. This sounds delish.

Thursday: Loaded Quinoa Veggie Burgers with Spicy Oven Fries and salad – I’ve blogged about these before. We love them.

On Friday we are driving down to Birmingham so Matthew can see his grandfather who is recovering from a broken hip. So my meal plan for this week ends with Thursday.

In 2 hours I will be picking Matty up at the airport! He has been out of town for 5 days, and I can’t wait to see him!! :)